top of page

Passion For The Game

The coaches for the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas are selected by the Athletic Director, Ron Long. The coaches selected are first approved by their respective governing bodies for approval.

In order for a coach to be named as the head coach for the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas, that coach first must have served as an assistant coach.

Coaches Info

North Carolina:



Head Coach - Johnny Sowell                         Monroe High School


Nick Eddins                                                      Pinecrest High School


Hugh Martin                                                     North Duplin High School


Doug Robertson                                              Page High School


George Privott                                                 Northampton Co. High School


Brett Chappell                                                 Pisgah High School


Bryan Craig                                                      A. C. Reynolds High School

Trainer - Courtney Phelps                               John A. Holmes High School

South Carolina:



Head Coach - Wayne Farmer                         Calhoun Co. High School


Russell Blackston                                             Belton - Honea Path High School


Chad Leaphart                                                 Gilbert High School


Victor Floyd                                                      Chester High School


Reed (Rusty) Charpia                                       Brookland Cayce High School


Carlisle Koonts                                                 Hartsville High School

James Breland                                                 Sumter High School

Trainer - Niki Gay                                             Lugoff-Elgin High School


bottom of page